There are those of us in North Carolina who feel up to the task and responsibility of having our guns with us when and where we choose. In order to register for a CCH (carrying a concealed handgun) permit that will allow you to do just that, you need to go through a few legal steps. Because laws regarding CCH permits can vary from state to state, we have compiled an FAQ section here to help you learn the ropes about getting your CCH in North Carolina.
Who can get a concealed carry permit in North Carolina?
In order to get a concealed carry permit, you have to meet a few of the following qualifications: be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident, be a resident of North Carolina (proof of at least 30 days of residency), be 21 years old or older, able to own a gun legally, willing to subject to an FBI background check.
I have an old offense on my record– will it keep me from obtaining a concealed carry permit?
In short, it depends. The government will usually reject individuals with certain offenses on their records– new or old. For more information, visit the Department of Justice site for North Carolina.
Can I choose the CCH class? How long is it?
You can choose any qualified and accredited CCH class you’d like to take. Most courses are 8-12 hours long and are taught over 1-2 days, depending on location.
For more information regarding the concealed carry classes we teach here at ProShots, please contact us today!