The North Carolina Concealed Carry Course is the first step in attaining your permit. It is required that you complete an eight-hour course, written test, and range qualification.
(And yes, we also teach the Retired LEO CCHP HR218 as well!)
In this class you will learn:
- Firearms safety and operation
- North Carolina Laws on carrying concealed including recent changes in General Statutes
- Laws concerning the use of deadly force
What is the shooting test?
The test is a zero assistance, pass fail test with no provision for failure to retake. It is a timed 40 round qualification that requires you make a 75% on a man sized target from both a low ready as well as from the draw or bench top, while taking verbal commands from the instructor. You are also expected to do all your own loading, unloading, showing clear, clearing malfunctions, and having zero safety violations. Yardages vary from 2-7 yards, and the test is generally administered to 8 students at a time. We do not allow 22lr pistols or use of laser sights. It is important to note, the state mandated curriculum for the NC Concealed Carry Class Is 100% classroom based, and in no way prepares you for the qualification shoot. If that sounds scary don’t worry, you just need to take the “Coach To Qualify” option.
Coach to qualify
Normally an hour with an instructor would run you $59, but for $40 the coach to qualify gets you
Use of the range without additional charge
The instructors time for 1hr
Unlimited free rentals
Free Rental Eye And ear pro
10% off ammunition
At the end of your session, the instructor will work with you one on one while administering the shooting test. When taken in this setting, even a rank armature should have no problem passing the shooting portion of the test.
$20 off Defensive Pistol
In order to provide the safest environment for everyone in the store, members will be held accountable for the safe behavior of their guests. Any unsafe behavior could result in the revocation of membership privileges.